Top 15 Current NFL Players Who Will Never Win A Super Bowl

Winning a Super Bowl, or just about any sports championship for that matter, is a team effort. While it’s no coincidence that the very best players and the teams they play on tend to rise to the top, we’ve seen numerous incidents of “no-name” championship squads that just go to confirm that the top of the world tends to be reserved for those that are able to work together and become even greater than the sum of their parts.

Yet, when the career of every great player is being measured, the same question always comes up. “How many championships did they win?” There is nothing sadder in the NFL than an all-time great individual talent that was never able to win the Super Bowl. While the failure to win a championship may not override everything else a player accomplishes in their career, it does forever stand as that one nagging deficiency that they wish they could go back and correct somehow. It happens to great players in every generation, and this one is no exception. There will be great, modern NFL players that manage to hoist that Super Bowl trophy and wear a championship ring. Specifically, these are the top 15 current NFL players who will never win a Super Bowl.

15 Carson Palmer

Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

14 Jamaal Charles

Aaron Doster-USA TODAY Sports

13 Andre Johnson

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

12 Joe Thomas

Brad Mills-USA TODAY Sports

11 Frank Gore

Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

10 Matt Forte

William Hauser-USA TODAY Sports

9 DeSean Jackson

Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

8 Steve Smith Sr.

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

7 Julius Peppers

Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

Steve Smith’s former defensive partner in crime makes his unfortunate appearance on this list. Julius Peppers’ hall of fame career was arguably sealed the moment he left the Panthers in 2009. This human sack machine completely changed the way that people looked at the defensive end position, and some will argue that Peppers set a standard there that will never be beaten. The popular theory is that Peppers fell off when he left Carolina, but the guy continues to get it done. He even had 10.5 sacks last year as a member of the Packers!

6 Jason Witten

Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

5 Cameron Wake

Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

4 Colin Kaepernick

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

3 Larry Fitzgerald

Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

2 Adrian Peterson

Brace Hemmelgarn-USA TODAY Sports

1 Philip Rivers

Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

It feels like the story for the San Diego Chargers has been the same over the years. They enter the season as a favorite to win it all, show some promise, and then fall off the radar when the games matter most. At the center of that recent history has been Philip Rivers who has remained the Chargers' constant since 2004. Rivers continues to post numbers that rank among the best in the NFL, but it’s starting to become obvious that his contributions aren't amounting to much when it comes to the postseason. Besides, if Rivers couldn’t win with a San Diego team that included names like LaDainian Tomlinson, Antonio Gates, Antonio Cromartie, Malcolm Floyd, and Vincent Jackson, do you really think that he’s going to be able to win with the roster San Diego will be able to put together over his remaining contract years?

Give TheSportster a Thumbs up!

Looking for an AD FREE EXPERIENCE on TheSportster?

Get Your Free Access Now!

More in NFL

Top 15 Current NFL Players Who Will Never Win A Super Bowl