Carmella Legitimately Knocked Out SmackDown Live Ref [Video]

This week's episode of SmackDown Live nearly saw a championship change, as Carmella thought she had Charlotte cornered.

The SmackDown Women's Champion was ambushed and attacked by The Riott Squad, prompting Ms. Money in the Bank to come running out to cash in on her championship opportunity.

However, Carmella made a costly mistake, accidentally kicking official Danilo Anfibio - who went down and was unable to ring the bell to start the match:

But as it turns out, Anfibio was legitimately knocked out by Carmella's kick, and claimed he had to be looked at by the medical team:

With Anfibio knocked out, the match never started, and Carmella opted not to cash in as Charlotte got back on her feet. Having won the contract one June 18th of last year, Carmella still has four-and-a-half months to cash in.

Last year's Money in the Bank pay-per-view featured the first all-women ladder match for the briefcase and contract. Carmella obviously became the first winner, and it's anybody's guess when she'll decide to cash in on her opportunity.


She certainly will make better use of it than Baron Corbin, who won the men's match last year. He cashed in his championship opportunity on the Aug. 15 episode of SmackDown Live, but was caught by surprise and lost to Jinder Mahal. Corbin was just the third person to lose after using his MITB opportunity.

via Cageside Seats

Carmella has proven herself as one of the top all-around performers in the female division, and should eventually be an excellent Champion. Asuka has yet to decide if she'll face Charlotte or Alexa Bliss for her championship, so it's no guarantee that Carmella opts to use the contract for the SmackDown Women's title.

Of course, Carmella will want to make sure she doesn't legitimately knock out a referee the next time she tries cashing in.


Kevin Owens To Feud With Bobby Lashley Over The IC Title Upon Return [Rumor]

More in Wrestling