Every Rey Mysterio Singles Title Reign In WWE, Ranked

When Rey Mysterio defeated AJ Styles to win the United States Championship on the November 25, 2019, episode of Raw, it became the masked superstar’s 10th singles title reign in WWE.

The Mexican superstar has won many championships in different promotions throughout his legendary 30-year pro-wrestling career. However, he had his most significant title reigns with the world’s largest wrestling promotion WWE.

Starting from the Cruiserweight Championship to becoming WWE Champion, Rey Mysterio has done it all in Vince McMahon’s empire. With that said, let’s take a look at the masked superstar’s every single’s championship reign in the WWE so far.

RELATED: 10 Craziest Moves Of Rey Mysterio

10 WWE Champion - July 2011

After CM Punk walked out of the company with the WWE Championship at Money in the Bank 2011, WWE announced a tournament to crown a new champion the next night on Raw. Rey Mysterio & the Miz made it to the finals of the tournament on the July 25, 2011, episode of Raw & the masked superstar came out victorious winning the title for the first time in his career.

However, he lost the title the same night to John Cena, who had challenged him for the title earlier. WWE used Rey Mysterio as only a pawn to get the title to John Cena so he can restart his feud with a returning CM Punk.

9 9.United States Champion - May 2019

Rey Mysterio won the United States Championship for the first time in his career at the 2019 Money in the Bank PPV. After multiple failed attempts, including one at WrestleMania 35, Mysterio defeated Samoa Joe to become the United States Champion, and also became WWE's 21st Grand Slam Champion in the process.

But unfortunately, Mysterio suffered a legitimate injury during a post-match beatdown at the hands of Samoa Joe at MITB. As a result, he had to relinquish the title back to the Samoan Submission Machine two weeks later on the June 3, 2019, episode of Raw.

8 Cruiserweight Champion ( June - July 2004)

Rey Mysterio held the original WWE Cruiserweight Championship three times in his career. He won it for the third time in a match against Chavo Classic on the June 17, 2004, episode of SmackDown.

The masked superstar held on to the title for 42 days with two defenses. He put the championship on the line against Chavo Guerrero in a good back & forth match at the 2004 Great American Bash PPV and came out victorious.

RELATED: Every Time Rey Mysterio Dressed Up As A Comic Book Character, Ranked

The reign ended when he dropped the title to Spike Dudley on the July 29, 2004, episode of SmackDown.

7 Cruiserweight Champion (Dec 2003 - Jan 2004)

Rey Mysterio's second run with the WWE Cruiserweight Championship started on the January 1, 2004, episode of SmackDown. Mysterio kicked off the new year in style, winning the Cruiserweight Championship from Tajiri in a hard-fought match.

Mysterio had two successful title defenses against Jamie Noble at the 2004 Royal Rumble & the following episode of SmackDown. He dropped the title to Chavo Guerrero in a decent 20-minute match at No Way Out 2004, ending the reign in 47 days, and It took him four months before he could regain the title once again.

6 Intercontinental Champion (April - June 2009)

Rey Mysterio won the Intercontinental Championship for the first time in his career at WrestleMania 25. He defeated his long-time rival John Bradshaw Layfield in a surprising 21 seconds to lift the championship.

After his win, he got drafted to SmackDown in the 2009 WWE Draft, taking the title with him to the blue brand. He started a feud over the title against Chris Jericho, which turned personal very quickly.

After retaining the title against Jericho at Judgement Day 2009, he dropped the title to him in at Extreme Rules 2009 in a No Holds Barred when Jericho pulled Mysterio's mask and pinned him to win the title.

5 Cruiserweight Champion (June - September 2003)

Rey Mysterio won his first singles championship in WWE on the June 5, 2003, episode of SmackDown by defeating Matt Hardy to win the WWE Cruiserweight Championship.

RELATED: 10 Best Matches Of Matt Hardy's Career

Mysterio held on to the title for an impressive 112 days with five successful defenses against the likes of Matt Hardy, Nunzio & Tajiri. The reign came to an end on the September 25, 2003, episode of SmackDown.

Tajiri defeated Rey Mysterio to win the Intercontinental Championship in a decent back & forth match and managed to get even with Mysterio over the loss he sustained two weeks prior.

4 World Heavyweight Champion (June - July 2010)

Rey Mysterio’s second run as the World Heavyweight Champion started at Fatal 4-Way 2010. He defeated Jack Swagger, CM Punk & The Big Show in the titular match to win the championship.

Unlike his first run, Mysterio didn’t hold on to the title for much longer as he quickly lost it to Kane. After retaining the championship against former champion Jack Swagger at the 2010 Money in the Bank PPV, Mysterio was forced to defend the title again.

Kane, who had won the SmackDown MITB ladder match earlier the same night, cashed in against Mysterio and became the new Champion ending Mysterio’s reign in 28 days.

3 United States Champion (November 2011)

Though Rey Mysterio's second United States Championship reign has just started, the storyline background of the victory makes it one of his top title reigns in WWE.

After failing to capture the WWE Championship from Brock Lesnar at Survivor Series, Rey Mysterio needed an immediate momentum boost to prevent getting lost in the shuffle.

Mysterio regained his momentum the very next night after Survivor Series by defeating AJ Styles in an entertaining match to become the new United States Champion. The victory gained Rey Mysterio some credibility after losing his battle with Brock Lesnar, and we can expect it to go on much longer than his last reign.

2 Intercontinental Champion (June - September 2009)

Things became personal between Rey Mysterio & Chris Jericho after the latter disrespected the Luchador by removing his mask during their last match. Mysterio vowed to get retribution against Jericho in a mask vs. title match at The Bash 2009.

Rey Mysterio emerged victorious winning the Intercontinental Championship and also protecting the legacy of his mask. Mysterio continued the reign for 65 days with two successful defenses against Dolph Ziggler.

The reign came to an end at the hands of John Morrison when Mysterio dropped the title to Morrison in a clean contest on the September 4, 2006, episode of SmackDown.

1 World Heavyweight Champion (April - July 2006)

Rey Mysterio's road to the World Heavyweight Championship at WrestleMania 22 has to be one of the most inspiring storylines in WWE history. Mysterio won the championship in a triple threat match against Kurt Angle & Randy Orton at WrestleMania 22, lifting the first world championship of his career, dedicating it to his best friend Eddie Guerrero.

The masked superstar held on to the title for 112 days in total having successful defenses against Randy Orton, JBL, Sabu, & Mark Henry. The reign ended when King Booker defeated Mysterio to win the title at the 2006 Great American Bash PPV.

NEXT: 10 Best Matches Of Rey Mysterio's Career

More in Wrestling